Food for Thought

Food for Thought
The Story of Sam, Esther & Jane

Cut by: Davita Cuttita

Esther and Sam are two African children who were found starving in the dirt half naked and alone by the San Damiano Foundation as they were filming a documentary on poverty in 2007.

At age 7, Sam weighed 20 pounds and his sister Esther fares no better. They both suffer from polio which makes them unable to walk.

Sam & Esther’s sister, Jane is the eldest of the three at age 8. Although she cannot feed her siblings, she regularly walks for miles to fetch one bucket of water in order to bathe them both.

Their story is below.

If you are interested in seeing how Sam, Esther and Jane are doing now, click here.

Reading the comments on this video, I was shocked at a few.

The story of these children is not about getting into the game of “victim olympics” or trying to gauge with faulty, selfish and narcissitic notions dictating who is more or less deserving of something of us: whether it be food, money, attention or love. Rather we should use our consciousness to concern ourselves with the balance, reinforcement and preservance of  justice, peace, humilty, love, safety, equality, comfort and wisdom: especially when it comes to children.

Things aren’t the best for some of us and sometimes it’s hard to lose sight of the bigger picture in the face of life’s tribulations and fall into a deep hole of hopelessness, self-pity or loathing and depression. I know I have as I live far below the poverty line, have a permanent disability that is currently worsening and am sometimes unable to get enough (or anything) to eat without sacrificing another necessity or two. Now, I cannot complain.

We all have our crosses to bear in life, individually tailored to match the depths of our characters. This story has encouraged me to bare mine with hope and courage and I hope it inspires others to do the same.

A bucket of water can go a long way.

~ by davitacuttita on November 25, 2009.

One Response to “Food for Thought”

  1. Lover-la-dahs!

    I am leaving PDDP effective immediately. My Admin rights are already gone so sorry for the inconvenience, I wish I could’ve done this as a post but I couldn’t.

    My time as a writer here is over and I must go on to do new things. I love each and every one of you and would like to thank all the readers for their support. I would especially like to thank Grandpa Dinosaur, The Rotund, Nudiemuse, Restructure, Angry Black-White Girl for their inspiration and encouragement.

    Please take love, courage, wisdom, humour and forgiveness into your daily routines and I hope you all live your lives to the fullest. Thank you for this generous experience and being so beautiful to me.

    Warmth,
    ~Davita Cuttita

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

