That Ain’t Cute

If You’re Gonna Say “Nigger”, Say It To Our Faces

Cut by: Davita Cuttita

Okay, people. I am tired. After days of French exams, no sleep and running 10–14K (or 5–7 miles for our American friends) in sixty to seventy-five minutes (each day!), my patience is short and up with this fuckery I will not put!!

I do not buy magazines. Well, actually I buy National Geographic cuz it’s full of pretty pictures of places I’d like to visit and has all these interesting articles on different peoples, times and stuffs like that. Plus the ads are usually trying to get you to buy a new camera or eat cornflakes (which I love!).

So I was at the pharmacy buying some lotto tickets with my sister when we saw this shit. Here it is:

Do I have to say it? I think I do.

BLACK PEOPLE ARE NOT MONKIES. WE ARE NOT “LESS EVOLVED” AND (most) BLACK MEN ARE NOT STALKING WHITE PUSSY. NO. NO. NO. NO. DO NOT EVEN GO THERE, MOTHERFUCKER. YOU LOSE VOGUE. YOU LOSE.

Magazine covers go through tons of scrutiny within the marketing department and not to say mistakes can’t be expected but THIS? Come now people. Nobody saw this and thought for one second it might be a bit outta line? COME ON!!

Why does the Black Man have to be marketed as if he is some type of monster or brute? Discuss amongst yourselves. All I have to say is I will continue to never spend my money on magazines. If this was a mistake, fine. I can live with that; you can’t please everyone and sometimes in your best efforts to do so, you fuck up SPECTACULARLY as with this magazine cover. On the other hand, if this was some sort of “clever” ploy to sell magazines with controversy Vogue, please shoot yourselves. Also, in regards to my previous racist bingo post, I am simply exhausted and have not the time to continue with it. I am EXHAUSTED with all this fuckery so I will pass you along to the brilliant Shannon over at nudemuse, one of my favourite blogs. She did an excellent post covering a couple more of the squares; I doubt I need to say more.

So anywayz, think about it kiddies.

~D.C.

~ by davitacuttita on April 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
