The Failures of Anti-Racism

The Failures of Anti-Racism
Are You Helping or Not?
Cut by: Davita Cuttita

Hey lovers, I’m back—funky fresh, dressed to impress n’ ready to party! Sorry for the hiatus but somebody’s gotta get paid and conjugate the French verbs around here.

Today I’d like to discuss how and when certain “anti-racism” fails Coloured People.

Anyone surprised?
If so, you’ve got some thinking to do and I hope you read the following very, very, carefully.

You see, I’ve been reading. Listening. Staying quiet in a few circles. I’ve been trying to see how deep exactly this rabbit hole of racism goes and lemme tell ya…it’s a long drop to the bottom.

In regards to some White people being anti-racist, I find that they do a very poor job. Not just White people on the internet but also White people Grandpa Dinosaur knows; White people I know.

When these White people claim to be anti-racist, I find that their efforts of anti-racism are only acceptable to themselves and of course, only other White people. Now, if you’re trying not to be racist but are finding that only people of your racial group approve of your efforts; I’d say it’s high-time to re-evaluate your approach. Right?

No, not these White people.

The White people I’m talking about are the ones that will complain if you mention slavery or wish to discuss it with them. “Oh! You people always bring that up, why can’t you just let it go already?”

Firstly, why do you refer to us as “You people”?

Secondly, I wonder if it ever occurs to these White people that for the first time in history after hundreds of years of enslavement, segregation, imperialism, colonialism, genocide and rape; we can all sit down together as equals in the same place and talk to one another as brothers and sisters of the human race about our feelings. Why, if you have nothing to do with slavery, would you feel “bad” or “uncomfortable” if Coloured People choose to talk about it? The racists didn’t (and still don’t) want to hear us talk about our feelings. The segregationists didn’t want to hear us talk about them, either. However, these “anti-racists”, claiming not to be either of these things; do not want to talk with us about them either.

I question these White people’s anti-racism. I question their self-serving diplomacy. I question whether they want to build a peaceful relationship with People of Colour at all; since they only want us to pat them on the back for their lazy, morally bankrupt efforts and avoid talking with us about the “uncomfortable” topic of history.

Do they think we feel no shame or sadness when we talk about slavery? I guess they assume we’re all genetically predisposed to being “used to” handling the subject. Do they think some of us did not cry or feel fear and shame as children when we were first informed of these events? Do they think that we did not cry or feel shame when we watched Roots or Amistad as part of our elementary education on slavery? I know I did. I cried. I hurt. I felt shame and fear.

One can go up to these supposed White “anti-racists” and say “Hey, I am a Coloured person and I do not approve of the term ‘colour-blind’ because only White people can efficiently be colour blind” and rather than asking you why you feel this way, said White person will argue with you and essentially put up a defence against you so they can go on doing as they please; without question. After all, they’re doing you a favour by being anti-racist!! They’re doing it FOR you; they have no interest in doing anything WITH you at all! I say, “But White person, I thought we were allies! Why are you holding that gun to my head?”

I question these White people’s “anti-racism”. I question their defiant grasp upon White privilege.

Then of course, are the White “anti-racist” people who come into PoC zones either physically or on the net and say that they “feel marginalized” if you rightfully call their remarks racist, White-privilege oriented or otherwise defamatory or offensive to PoC. These are spaces dominated by the feelings, interests and beliefs of Coloured People; people you supposedly feel comfortable around and see as equals. Yet, if we criticize you or talk about our own personal experiences; we are marginalizing you. Would you feel better if a White person gave you the exact same criticism a PoC gave you? Would you feel “less marginalized” then? Since, you know; your anti-racism seems to be pretty “White Only” anyway.

This is when anti-racism fails; when dialogues become court trials, when the people who it seeks to serve are oppressed into silence for the personal comfort of Whites “not wanting to hear” about our problems. These people are adhering to a perversion of anti-racism, a perversion brought to you by White Privilege© and White supremacy™ (now with 10% more hate!).

When has being anti-racist become not a matter of common, human decency and justice but a matter of one’s own personal comfort? When has being anti-racist become a matter of not listening to the demands and requests of those one seeks to aid?

Tell me…and you know who you are…

Is this what you call anti-racism? Is this the hollow justice you are offering to Blacks, Asians, Natives, Indians and Latinos? Because it is not justice at all; it is merely White supremacy without the white sheet over your head. It is merely White privilege introduced via a handshake to glaze over its maliciousness.

You have failed us People of Colour and have only helped yourself.


“…I, for one, as a Muslim believe that the White man is intelligent enough. If he were made to realize how Black people really feel and how fed up we are without that old compromising sweet talk (of) ‘Why, you’re the one that makes it hard for yourself!’

The White Man believes you when you go to him with that old sweet talk because you’ve been sweet talking him eversince he brought you here. STOP sweet talking him, tell him how you feel! Tell him what kind of hell you’ve been catching and let him know that if he’s not ready to clean his house up, he shouldn’t have a house.

It should catch on fire—and burn down.

–Malcolm X

~ by davitacuttita on September 14, 2008.

10 Responses to “The Failures of Anti-Racism”

  1. Last time I used that comic, the (racist) comments went through the roof!

    http://ericstoller.com/blog/2007/07/01/the-meritocracy-myth/

    I enjoyed your post. Cheers.

  2. Hey Eric!

    Yours was in colour…lucky!! Yeah, those racists just come outta nowhere…even some of the ones that are “anti-racist” are full of surprises!

    Thanks for stopping by and reading, glad you enjoyed the post.

  3. […] The Failures of Anti-Racism « Pregnant Drug-Dealing Prostitutes "When these White people claim to be anti-racist, I find that their efforts of anti-racism are only acceptable to themselves and of course, only other White people. Now, if you’re trying not to be racist but are finding that only people of your racial group approve of your efforts; I’d say it’s high-time to re-evaluate your approach. Right? […]

  4. Thanks.

  5. no comment, just props

  6. […] Privilege and Running from the Law by Davita Cuttita Write Right White Words by Grandpa Dinosaur The Failures of Anti-Racism by Davita Cuttita Catching Hell by Davita […]

  7. Oh boy! Oh boy! I know why white people don’t like to hear about it, becuase I am a white people! =3

    IT’S. EMBARRASSING.

    Oh GOD is it embarrassing! And a lot of us still live with grandparents “born in another time” that say “oh nigger!” as a curse word when something goes wrong. -raises hand- Every time I hear it I want to shrivel up and die, or cover his mouth so he can’t say it ever again. Urrgh how could I possibly be related to and descendant from such IGNORANCE? Some of us (not myself, I’m from the north) in the United States are decendant of actual slave masters themselves–what kind of heavy burden, kind of curse is that? It’s a terrible, terrible embarrassment, that’s all I can say on it.

    AND YET, it does not excuse us. Why should African Americans face their past and their shame and the fear and the hurt that they were born of, while white people can blissfully ignore their own ugly past?

    Which is a reason I am quite fond of this blog =3

    I think I lost my point in there somewhere…

  8. Hey University Princess,

    Hmn…well, in my opinion pissing your pants in public is embarrassing. Walking into a sign post in front of someone is embarrassing. Tripping over your shoe laces is embarrassing. Farting in the elevator at work and having everyone look at you and talk about it later is embarrassing.

    What happened to the Black population (and many other ethnicites) due to slavery? I don’t think that’s embarrassing. I think that’s just greed and hatred at maximum capacity. Not only that, but I think that was a very widescale attempt at racial, cultural, spiritual and intellectual genocide.

    It doesn’t matter where you’re from or who your ancestors are: the fact is that White people everywhere benefit(ted) the MOST from the effects of slavery (White privilege is a big one from it) and the only way this will ever stop, is if we can all realize what’s going on and agree that the current system is corrupt and in need of reform.

    Don’t worry, I’m not offended because I know you’re making an honest effort to learn and try to uncover things and I’m glad you enjoy the blog. However, I just wanted to point out some things to you.

  9. Mmm, you’re right, it was definately hatred and greed. But it wasn’t for me. Does that make sense?

    I do feel really embarrassed sometimes talking about the past and thinking that someone related to me, or even someone who looked like me, could have done such things.

    I like the comparison you made there xD Pissing your pants in public. Yeah that’s definately embarrassing.

  10. I get what you’re saying University Princess (sorry for the delay in replying!) but this is not about what racism means to you. It’s not about what racism means to me; either. It’s just about what racism MEANS and how it got here–if you catch my drift.

    As a Black person, I can’t take this shit personally and I don’t because its been around for hundreds and hundreds of years and it’s not gonna stop. Racism is not *my* experience, it is a massive experience–I can’t claim credit for all that suffering or try and separate my part from the rest: it’s just like a snowball; you don’t know where it starts or ends but you know HOW and WHAT its made of.

    Also, glad you liked the comparison. I try, haha.

Leave a Reply

 
