Happy Halloween!

pumpkincarvingll2

A very HAPPY HALLOWEEN to all Homies, Homiettes and Haters from us here at PDDP!

Just as last year, I’ve left out some goodies for ya’ll below. (Oh, and if you’re not into scary stuff please direct yourself to a goodie over here).

First and foremost, if there’s one thing that can (moderately) compete with my audiophilia it’s a good movie. Especially if it’s a good horror movie. So let’s take a looksee at some damn good scary shit!! Afterall, we gotta combat this sad trend of terror and gore kinda losing their touch on Halloween!

let_the_right_one_in_poster

Let the Right One In is based off the 2004 Swedish novel of the same name by John Ajvide. The story starts off with Oskar, a quiet 12 year old boy who is regularly picked on at school. He fascinates himself with morbid thoughts and solving puzzles in his spare time, until he meets a mysterious girl his age named Eli who just moved in next door with a man named Håkan. Coincedentally, many murders begin taking place in the quiet town upon their arrival–all the victims bled dry and strung up like pigs in a slaughter house. It doesn’t take Oskar long to start questioning who–or what–Eli truly may be.

The 2008 Swedish adaptation of the film is brilliant so I highly recommend that you hop, skip n’ jump down to your closest video store (or bootleg website if you’re broke like me) and give this a watch. Evenmore so, I also recommend the book; it’s definitely one of the best pieces of literature I’ve read in a long time but be forewarned if you’re sensitive: the book deals much more heavily than the film with themes of violence and children, graphic themes of pedophilia and gore. Here’s the trailer:

The next film I’m going to talk about is absolutely fucking brilliant. This film, BY FAR, is one of the best horror movies I have seen in years and will probably be one of the best I will see in my life. It’s time for Trick ‘r Treat.
trickrtreatbook

This 2009 horror film by Michael Dougherty was released onto DVD October 3rd and is just TOO good. We have a horror movie with just about everything–werewolves, serial killers, zombies and beings from beyond the gates of hell wrapped up into four individual storylines that intersect and intertwine throughout the film to create a riveting masterpiece of terror with a few giggles thrown in for good measure. This is not the ordinary slasher flick (which I also love) although it still comes complete with lots of violence and blood nor is it the traditional Halloween movie full of stupid characters and predictable plot twists: this film is something so new, so fresh, so fun and so terrifying that it’ll definitely go down in history as a Halloween horror classic. I watched it two weeks ago and I love it with my whole heart. I’ve said enough, so please check out the trailer and if you’re still unconvinced; you’re really missing out!

So what would Halloween be without a little fun amongst the screams?

Of course, props MUST go out to the King of Pop who simply did it better than any other. This is Thriller night, afterall. Michael Jackson, you are a legend and may you rest in peace.


And does anybody else here really love the Rocky Horror Picture Show? OK, I don’t but I think that shit’s funny as all hell. So here’s my two favourite songs, the “Time Warp” and “Sweet Transvestite”.

Well, that’s all for this year, lover-la-dahs! What are your plans for the big H tonight? I’m going to a junk-food adorned horror movie-a-thon sleepover with my friends so I’m looking forward to possibly getting *throwed (*”drunk” for you jive turkeys), eating too much and passing out to the sounds of my own screams as we roll one flick after another. Good times, I suppose. If you missed out on last year’s PDDP Halloween goodies, please help yourselves to them over here. Keep safe and have a great night!!

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

~ by davitacuttita on October 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
